This Astonishing Life

Have you ever paused to consider just how astonishing this life-in-Christ really is?

“Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ.

Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God.Romans 5:1-2.

 Look carefully at how Paul speaks: “We have been justified,” “we have peace with God”, and we “rejoice in hope of the glory of God.”

It’s the past, present and future of our wonderful life with Jesus! When Jesus died on the cross, and when I received that “by faith”, then I was “justified”. I am now treated “just-as-if-I’d never sinned!”

And so “We have peace with God.” The war is over, the conditions of surrender have been drawn up. Peace is declared. And that past completed action of the cross brought us into a new place, into the “grace in which we stand.” And we have gained access only “by faith.” Nothing to do with how good our performance is, or how clever we are!

And so we rejoice! The Greek word is very strong: it suggests and shouting out in pleasure, whirling about in total abandon. We rejoice not only for this present situation- this grace where we now stand – but we rejoice in the prospect of the glory that is to come! We rejoice “in hope of the glory of God.”

Peace, grace and glory: what a wonderful supply!

I became a follower of Jesus because of two basic problems. Those problems related to my past, and my future. From the past, I carried the burden of a thousand wrong decisions, with all their sad consequences. From the future I drew all sorts of anxieties and fears.

Guilt for my past and anxiety for my future. That’s the alternative to the grace that Jesus offers. What an astonishing life we have been brought into, in Christ. It’s a life where I find peace, at last; where I stand in grace and where I anticipate glory now and to come.

This entry was posted in Christianity, Church Planting, Contemporism, Evangelism, Faith, God, Jesus, Morning Devotions, New Church, Prayer, Sin & Repentance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

