All I ask. (And more)

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.”-Ephesians 3:20-21

“You’re asking a lot!”

Sometimes we put demands on others. Especially those in our family, or friends who have stood by us in past times. We depend on other people’s dependability. I remember turning up at my brother’s house once in the middle of the night. He didn’t answer the door so I climbed through a window and spread my sleeping bag over his sofa. I heard –sleepily- his wife come in in the morning, exclaim, and then a muffled conversation to which my brother replied “It’s probably just Ken.”

Good to have friends like that, isn’t it? (I’ll send his address if you like).

The point is that on the basis of our long, friendly association I took the liberty of supposing that he wouldn’t treat me like a burglar or vagrant (whose actions, admittedly, I had somewhat copied!). I asked a lot and expected to receive it. And I did.

When Paul speaks of God in this way he makes his claim on the basis of a long and warm friendship. In one sense, he even draws in the long patterned history of God’s choice and cherishing of Israel, God’s favour on his own son (“With whom I am well-pleased”) and through Jesus, his love-affair with the believers in Jesus, grouped together and nurtured in the mystery called “church.” A “sharing” (Koinonia) in the life of Jesus

If you love someone, you’d do pretty much anything for them. You even anticipate their desires and love to second-guess them, surprising them with graciousness and unepected gifts. It’s very very nice to give unexpected gifts.

Well now, do you expect less of God? Ask according to the measure of your intimacy.

He knows. He anticipates.

If I could expect so much from my brother, how much more can I expect from my Father? Luke 11:13: We KNOW how to give good gifts. How much more will God give to us?

Today, I want to ask a lot!

This entry was posted in Christianity, Contemporism, Evangelism, Faith, God, Is it me?, Jesus, life, Listening, The church today and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All I ask. (And more)

  1. noel mills says:

    Hi Ken Thanks for new post I have a new email. Noeldmills111@gmail.com If u are able to send the posts to new address I always enjoyed reading them Hope u are both doing well Noel

Leave a Reply

