The Chainsaw Principle

No testing has overtaken you that is not common to everyone. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tested beyond your strength, but with the testing he will also provide the way out so that you may be able to endure it. 1 Corinthians 10:13

This is a very reassuring verse! It states a number of encouragements in a no-nonsense way.

First: whenever you’re tempted to think that your’s is an isolated case, think again!  We get so self-obsessed, don’t we?  My sneaking suspicion is that I give my problems  so too much attention in order to give myself an out when I deal with them wrongly. (Which happens, roughly, on a twenty-minute cycle).

The fact is that No testing has overtaken you that is not common to everyone. This is normal stuff! We are tempted to grandstand, to give ourselves too much attention. But if you only knew what I had to go through!

But I do, because I do too.

It’s important to remember who is speaking here. In 2 Corinthians Paul gave a whole catalogue of difficulties. Perhaps this qualifies him to speak as he does!

Because as soon as you state the size and quantity of the problems, you must also state the capacity and constancy of the Problem-solver:  God is faithful and he will not let you be tested beyond your strength

The love of God is expressed in his faithfulness to support you, but also in his understanding of what you are capable of.

It’s basic good parenting. No one gives a chainsaw to a four-year old for Christmas.

But of course, a good parent will want their child to stretch and learn; grow and try new things. It’s not good for you to stay coddled for ever. Perhaps (only perhaps!) some of the things of which I complain are God’s opportunity for me, or God’s wanting me to stretch to the very edge of my own ability?

Maybe.

Well, in any case, With the testing he will also provide the way out so that you may be able to endure it.

To my certain knowledge, some things are just horrible. Some things just have to be endured.

Jesus endured the cross, and instructed would-be followers to take up their own, and follow Him. He never promised a stress-free existence. In fact, he said, “In this world you WILL have trouble.”

But He also said: “Take heart, I have overcome the world! “ (John 16:33).

Hang on in there! There’s always a way out. God promised .

This entry was posted in Christianity, Contemporism, Evangelism, Faith, God, Is it me?, Jesus, life, Listening, The church today and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

