Me? Singing your Prowess, Shouting out your Largesse!

And me? I’m singing your prowess, shouting at cockcrow your largesse, For you’ve been a safe place for me, a good place to hide. Strong God, I’m watching you do it, I can always count on you— God, my dependable love.”  Psalm 59:16

Me? I’m over here, singing.

Leaning back with a smile on my face.

Nothing’s gone wrong, you say? Ah no, plenty has gone wrong. No problems? Oh, enough and to spare.

I remember someone who used to shake her head sadly and quote that old line “Many  -MANY- are the afflictions of the Righteous…”  It’s true enough, but  -speaking for myself- I sometimes get preoccupied with the oppression and opposition I face. Why so? It’s because sometimes they nag at me like a toothache, a constant and a persistent discomfort…

But the Psalmist is not just trying to “look on the bright side” and to cover up a million problems with a glib smile. Not at all. He has just discovered the second half of the verse: “Many are the afflcitions of the righteous, BUT  the Lord delivers him from them all.” (Psalm 34:19)

All of ’em.

It’s easy to lean back and smile when everything is going swimmingly, but when difficulties arise I have to watch my attitude.

Jesus came that I might have abundant life, right? So today I want to claim this scripture that there’s a way for me to enjoy life even when the going suddenly gets tough.

And me? I’m singing your prowess, shouting at cockcrow your largesse… Whatever anybody else does, I have to find this for myself. I’m not going to be dragged back by a whole roomful of depressed faces.

I can be joyful and positive no matter what comes my way because I am not facing this with my own resources, but looking to Him and His prowess, his largesse. For God has always been a safe place…[and] a good place to hide. (And sometimes, Lord, that’s exactly all I need), but more that that I can always count on you and when my strength is utterly depleted: I’m watching you do it. You do for me what I cannot do for myself.

Why? Because you’re Strong God,  — God, my dependable love. The reason you can sleep in the storm is because Jesus has already won your battle, whatever it may be!

I’m watching you do it!

This entry was posted in Christianity, Contemporism, Evangelism, Faith, God, Is it me?, Jesus, life, Listening, The church today and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

