More joy in One Ordinary Day

“I have God’s more-than-enough,

More joy in one ordinary day
Than they get in all their shopping sprees.
At day’s end I’m ready for sound sleep,
For you, God, have put my life back together.”
(Psalm 4:6-8)

To say “I have enough” is a real blessing, but perhaps it’s an ordinary thing.  But to have “God’s more-than-enough” is extra-ordinary! This verse claims that God gives me everything I need and then much more besides. The Bible tells me I’m “more than a conqueror” and that God gives me “far more than I can ask or imagine.” These are statements about the abundance of God’s giving.

And the cross is how God gives. This is the way that “God’s more- than- enough” is given to me. Jesus paid it all and announced the account settled: “It is finished”. He did everything necessary to deal with sin and sorrow and sickness in my life. He rose from the dead, is seated in heaven and raises me up to sit with him. He gives me more than anything I might think I deserve. In this context, God’s more-than-enough makes shopping sprees sound like the tiniest of tiny passing treats.

And even these tiny treats have their payback (Have I overspent? Should I have bought both?) But God’s  more-than-enough has no payback at all, only rest and satisfaction At day’s end I’m ready for sound sleep, For you, God, have put my life back together.”

Because He lives, I can face tomorrow, because I know- I KNOW- He holds the future, and life is worth the living just because He lives.

Val

This entry was posted in Christianity, Contemporism, Evangelism, Faith, God, Is it me?, Jesus, life, Listening, The church today and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

