Roots by the Stream

“But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him. They will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.”         (Jeremiah 17:7-8)

A word of wisdom from A.A. Milne: “If ever there is a tomorrow when we’re not together… there is something you must always remember. You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. But the most important thing is, even if we’re apart… I’ll always be with you.”

The truth is that I am capable of much much more when there is someone who thinks the world of me! I rise to the occasion, I gather optimistic self-belief, I become” a Go-to guy” (as someone expressed it to me!) in times of trouble. Their trust in me releases my confidence in myself.

And look at the text to see the characteristics of the one who has “roots by the stream.”  He “does not fear”. He “has no worries”. He “never fails to bear fruit.” Jesus told a similar parable (in John 15) which pictured his followers as the branches of a tree. If you stay connected, he said, then you will bear fruit. If you don’t, you won’t.

And what is it to stay connected? It is to have “roots by the stream” (as Jeremiah put it here). The unfailing resources of God’s love and friendship really changes who I am, and how I act. It is a deep and wonderful life-changing truth, that God thinks the world of me, that God believes in me.

And He is always with me. Always.

This entry was posted in Christianity, Contemporism, Evangelism, Faith, God, Is it me?, Jesus, life, The church today, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Roots by the Stream

  1. Val Baker says:

    Oh yes, each dawn is like God’s smile.

Leave a Reply

