The Two Handed Grip

“I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. I and the Father are one.” (John 10:28-30)

Whether it’s swords or guns, tennis or golf, the two-handed grip is the most secure. When we put our trust in Jesus -when we take His hand- we enter into a secure relationship.

The verse always reminds me of standing by a busy road with my two younger boys, taking their hands firmly in mine  (my oldest boy and my daughter were more responsible and compliant, perhaps!). The point was that, come what may, their hands were going to remain in mine. I had firmly decided that nothing or “no one would snatch them out of my hand.”

My will was set on it and my love dictated it. Any alternative was too horrific to contemplate.

And more than this: I had much greater understanding of the risks involved, and much greater strength with which to put my will, my love and wisdom into determined action

Is it any less with Father God? The journey of life is hazardous in the extreme and we very often do not understand the risks involved. Sometimes we blithely go “where angels fear to tread.” We may put ourselves in terrible danger.

Of course, God wants us to grow, and to be responsible, wise and circumspect, but in one important sense we never outgrow our need of Father’s care.

“Where does your security lie? Is God your refuge, your hiding place, your stronghold, your shepherd, your counselor, your friend, your redeemer, your saviour, your guide? If He is, you don’t need to search any further for security.”
― Elisabeth Elliot

This entry was posted in Christianity, Contemporism, Evangelism, Faith, God, Is it me?, Jesus, life, Listening, The church today, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

