The Truth is always in fashion

tailor

“What you say goes, God, and stays, as permanent as the heavens. Your truth never goes out of fashion; it’s as up-to-date as the earth when the sun comes up. Your Word and truth are dependable as ever; that’s what you ordered—you set the earth going. If your revelation hadn’t delighted me so, I would have given up when the hard times came. But I’ll never forget the advice you gave me; you saved my life with those wise words. Save me! I’m all yours. I look high and low for your words of wisdom. The wicked lie in ambush to destroy me, but I’m only concerned with your plans for me. I see the limits to everything human, but the horizons can’t contain your commands!” Psalm 119:93

I recall one of the very few times I’ve ever visited a “proper” tailor to be measured for a suit, having a saying repeated to me, that “Quality never goes out of fashion.”  Well, I must admit to feeling pretty cool in the finished result. Everything correct, in place, smooth, perfect. It’s not my regular life-approach, however, which is way over there in the off-the-peg department.

But in this wonderful paraphrase, there’s something of the same note being struck, as the Psalmist considers the Word of the living God. “Your truth never goes out of fashion.” The truth about God is a dependable ideal when normal life seems shabby, scruffy and make-do. Notice how what God says and what He does are brought together- the creative word and the created world explain each other. “The heavens declare the glory of God”. And then, quick on the heels of that association, is the human response: it’s one of delight and appreciation and utter trust.

I met a guy once who gave up the drink when he saw his wife’s first baby. He described being overwhelmed by its perfection, humbled, challenged. And something new was birthed in him.

And when God speaks, everything changes forever.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

