The Stickability of God

stickability.png

 

“Your love, God, is my song, and I’ll sing it!
    I’m forever telling everyone how faithful you are.
I’ll never quit telling the story of your love—
    how you built the cosmos
    and guaranteed everything in it.
Your love has always been our lives’ foundation,
    your fidelity has been the roof over our world.
You once said, “I joined forces with my chosen leader,
    I pledged my word to my servant, David, saying,
‘Everyone descending from you is guaranteed life;
    I’ll make your rule as solid and lasting as rock.’”  (Psalm 89:1-4)

 

Do you see the flow of thought here? It’s about stickability. The singer declares that he is “forever telling everyone” about God’s love. He has one song and he’s going to stick to it.

Like a song from the radio that gets stuck into your head, only in a good way.

And what is the content of that song? What are its lyrics? Why, it’s the song of creation (“how you built the cosmos”) and how God maintains an authoritative rule. He has “guaranteed everything in it.” That is to say, He has stuck to what He has started.

Sometimes people half-do things. They start, but they lack staying power. I started learning violin but gave up, appalled at the noise. But God isn’t like that. He sticks to what He has begun.

He who has begun a good work in you, will complete it…” It’s a very important attribute. It’s very comforting to know that God will see a job through.

In fact, the singer draws that very conclusion: “Your love has always been our lives’ foundation, your fidelity has been the roof over our world.”

Perhaps the analogy of learning the violin is a little trivial. “So what?” you might say. “Don’t be so hard on yourself. Try something else.”

But when you give up on relationships, say, that’s a whole lot more serious. The idea of stickability is not doggedness, or gritted-teeth persistence, but love. If you love something (or someone) you stick to it.

The singer sees that in the very fabric of creation. “Your fidelity has been the roof over our world.” Paul said much the same thing when he said, “Since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities – his eternal power and divine nature – have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made,” (Romans 1:20).

And love is the motivation for the sustaining of creation! God sees what He has made, and behold, it is very good.

But isn’t this all a bit theoretical? How do we experience that fidelity in our day-to-day lives? How does God’s love-in-creation affect the lives of people living today?

The singer has an answer. “You once said, “I joined forces with my chosen leader, I pledged my word to my servant, David, saying, ‘Everyone descending from you is guaranteed life; I’ll make your rule as solid and lasting as rock.’” His fidelity to creation is expressed as loyalty to His covenant promises. He gave His promise of life and rule to David, and toeveryone descending from you.”

And if you are in Christ, the “Son of David” then you are part of that promise. God has given you  His word and He sticks to it.

There’s a line I read the other day from Richelle E. Goodrich:

“Don’t ever give up.
Don’t ever give in.
Don’t ever stop trying.
Don’t ever sell out.
And if you find yourself succumbing to one of the above for a brief moment,
pick yourself up, brush yourself off, whisper a prayer, and start where you left off.
But never, ever, ever give up.”

Many have said the same thing. Calvin Coolidge described persistence as the one vital key to solving the problems of the human race.

Of course, they’re right.

But when I think of that darn violin, and my faltering and failure in a hundred situations –and yes, in relationships too – then I am just glad that God has never given up on me. He has pledged His word to see it through.

Lord, your fidelity is the roof over my world!

And that one fact changes everything – changes me!

“Your love, God, is my song, and I’ll sing it!
    I’m forever telling everyone how faithful you are.
I’ll never quit telling the story of your love…”

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

