Finding the Eye of the Storm

 

eye of the storm.jpg

The “Eye of the Storm” (according to Wikpedia) is “a region of mostly calm weather found at the centre of strong tropical cyclones”

All around, things are going crazy, but right here it’s “mostly calm.”

Does that express your emotional condition?

It’s a good description of Psalm 62, where David declares an absolute and undisturbed peace of mind in which his confidence in God is completely unshaken, despite threats on his life and all manner of pressure.

He alone is my Rock, my rescuer, defence, and fortress—why then should I be tense with fear when troubles come?  My protection and success come from God alone. He is my refuge, a Rock where no enemy can reach me.   O my people, trust him all the time. Pour out your longings before him, for he can help!”  (Psalm 62)

Question: Why should I be tense with fear when troubles come?

Answer: I shouldn’t, because I have a confident trust in God alone.

That word “alone” or “only”, which translates a little Hebrew particle, is a recurring theme in this psalm. It occurs six times, four in reference to God (62:1, 2, 5, 6; also in 4, 9). Each time it begins the sentence for emphasis. The word itself conveys emphasis and may be translated in different ways, depending on the context but most translate it as “only” or “alone.” Thus by repetition, David hammers home the concept that we will enjoy God’s peace in the midst of life’s most threatening moments when God only—God alone—is our salvation and refuge.

So how do we find the eye of the storm?

First, we have to acknowledge the existence of the trouble! Jesus said “In this world, you will have trouble…” and yet we often strive to deny it, rather than face it. But that’s like ignoring an oil leak or a tooth ache – things are just going to get worse! The real question is, what will you do?

Hopefully you’ll never have anyone plotting to kill you (as David did here!), but you may well face criticism and slander. The Bible never promises exemption from such attacks. Rather, it shows us what to do when you’re under attack.

Here’s David’s solution:at the precise point of attack, actively name and claim God alone as your point of rest. “My soul waits in silence for God only.”  Silence? “The silence intended (said a wise Calvin) is that composed submission of the believer, in the exercise of which he acquiesces in the promises of God, gives place to his word, bows to his sovereignty, and suppresses every inward murmur of dissatisfaction.

Read that last sentence slowly.

The key word there is submission. When difficult things happen to us, we can either angrily complain to God, “I don’t deserve such treatment!” Or, we can submit to Him, agreeing with His promises, giving supremacy to His Word, bowing before His sovereignty, and suppressing our tendency to grumble.

Remind yourself of God, Who God is, and what God is and what God has done, and what God has pledged Himself to do. Then having done that, end on this great note: defy yourself, and defy other people, and defy the devil and the whole world, and say with this man: “I shall yet praise Him for the help of His countenance, who is also the health of my countenance and my God.

That’s exactly what David does here: he piles up description after description of who God is. After telling himself to wait in silence for God only , he adds, “for my hope is from Him. He only is my rock and my salvation, my stronghold; I shall not be moved.” “On God my salvation and my glory rest; the rock of my strength, my refuge is in God.

Don’t miss the pronoun “my” (9 times in vv. 5-7!). David knew God personally as his hope, his rock, his salvation, his stronghold, his strength, and his refuge. If we want His peace in severe trials, we must know God personally and experientially as our God and remind ourselves of who He is.

So the point is, David is fighting here, while under these life-threatening attacks, to put these comforting truths centre-stage. He’s not telling God how big the problem is, but telling the problem how big his God is.

And in that perspective-shift, he finds the eye of the storm.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finding the Eye of the Storm

  1. kate Dean says:

    Thank you for a timely reminder that the Lord is in control. I needed to be reminded of that fact.

  2. kenbaker says:

    Me too (as always!). God bless Kate

Leave a Reply

