Whatever may happen…

wild atlantic way

“When my soul is in the dumps, I rehearse everything I know of you, From Jordan depths to Hermon heights, including Mount Mizar. Chaos calls to chaos, to the tune of whitewater rapids. Your breaking surf, your thundering breakers crash and crush me. Then God promises to love me all day, sing songs all through the night! My life is God’s prayer.” Psalm 42:8

Everything I know of you” is not very much, Lord, but I trust you that it’s enough. I’m a beginnner, a novice. I’m still astonished when things work out so well, and at just the right time. You seem to always work out of the corner of my eye.  I make my little plans and programmes and then you surge through them “to the tune of whitewater rapids” taking us on an unexpected journey. It’s marvellous and scary. And “Whatever may happen, thou hast taught me to say, It is well, it is well with my soul…”

And it is. It is. It is well.

Lord, I trust you for today.I have come to accept the feeling of not knowing where I am going.

And when “the thundering breakers crash and crush me” I tell myself ““It isn’t as bad as you sometimes think it is. It all works out. Don’t worry.” (I say  to myself every morning)”It all works out in the end. Put your trust in God, and move forward with faith and confidence in the future. The Lord will not forsake us. He will not forsake us. If we will put our trust in Him, if we will pray to Him, if we will live worthy of His blessings, He will hear our prayers.It’s alright.”

And the breakers still come, far greater than my ability to cope, far bigger than my capacity to understand, and I realise that I am part of something much bigger than myself. “My life is God’s prayer.” 

It is strangely humbling and liberating to see that I am not centre stage, Lord, that I am a little part of what you may or may not be doing in someone else’s life too! It’s not even remotely all about me!

And here’s dear old C.S.Lewis talking to me again: “Remember He is the artist and you are only the picture. You can’t see it. So quietly submit to be painted—i.e., keep fulfilling all the obvious duties of your station (you really know quite well enough what they are!), asking forgiveness for each failure and then leaving it alone.You are in the right way. Walk—don’t keep on looking at it.”

OK  Lord.

I know you don’t call us to be comfortable. You summon us  to trust you so completely that we are not afraid to put ourselves in situations where we will be in trouble if you don’t come through. 

And you will.You do. You always have done.

—a prayer for the God of my life.

Psalm 42:8

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

